The Evolution of:
HCDHS (Haliburton County District High School),
HHSS (Haliburton Highlands Secondary School),
HCBE (Haliburton County Board of Education)
and TLDSB (Trillium Lakelands District School Board)
Year Event
1920 Continuation School Grades 9-12 in Minden, ON
1924 Continuation School Grades 9-12 in Haliburton, ON
1948 Continuation School Grade 9-13 in Haliburton, ON
???? 3rd District High School Board in Ontario 

Members of Haliburton’s First District High School Board

Vincent Fountain (Chair) – Anson, Hindon and Minden

Harold Black – Dysart et. al. 

 Victor Shaver – Lutterworth

 Murray Agnew – Monmouth

 Cecil Irwin – Stanhope

Leslie Winch – Sherborne

Phyllis Hodgson – Dysart et. al.

 Ken Currie – County Council

 Clarence McInerney (Secretary-Treasurer)

The original location of the High School
(used to be the Stewart Homestead)
also known as Newham
Haliburton County District High School built.
Designed by: Adamson and Associates, Toronto, ON
Built by: L. Sullivan and Sons, Arnprior, ON 
1955 Four more classrooms added. 
1960 Four more classrooms and a Staff Room added. 
Technical Wing added.
Commercial Wing added. 
1967 Second Gym and Library added.
1968 Board Members of long standing recognized:
 Cecil Irwin – Stanhope (20 years: 4 years as Chair)
Victor Shaver – Lutterworth (20 years) 
R. J. Curry – Dysart et. al. (19 years) 
M. E. Broughton – Monmouth (15 years) 
1969 Haliburton County Board of Education formed: 
Keith Hill (Chair)
 Len Salvatori (Vice-Chair)
 Ross Anderson (Secretary-Treasurer)
J. Douglas Hodgson (Director of Education)
 Joan Fennell (Administrative Secretary)
1998 Trillium Lakelands District School Board formed: